## Minutes of the meeting of the City Council (Extraordinary)

held at the Council Chamber, Council House

on 7 December 2023 from 6.00 pm - 6.22 pm

#### Attendances:

- ✓ Councillor Carole McCulloch (Lord Mayor)
- ✓ Councillor Saj Ahmad
- ✓ Councillor Liagat Ali
- ✓ Councillor Leslie Ayoola
- √ Councillor Cheryl Barnard
- √ Councillor Steve Battlemuch
- ✓ Councillor Graham Chapman
- ✓ Councillor Kevin Clarke Councillor Audrey Dinnall
- ✓ Councillor Michael Edwards Councillor Nadia Farhat
- ✓ Councillor Faith Gakanje-Ajala Councillor Samuel Gardiner
- √ Councillor Sam Harris
- ✓ Councillor Jay Hayes
- ✓ Councillor Patience Uloma Ifediora
- √ Councillor Imran Jalil
- ✓ Councillor Corall Jenkins
- ✓ Councillor Maria Joannou
- √ Councillor Kirsty L Jones
- ✓ Councillor Kirsty M Jones
- √ Councillor Helen Kalsi
- ✓ Councillor Angela Kandola
- ✓ Councillor Anwar Khan Councillor Gul Khan
- ✓ Councillor Neghat Khan
  Councillor Zafran Nawaz Khan
- ✓ Councillor Pavlos Kotsonis

- Councillor Sam Lux
- √ Councillor Farzanna Mahmood
- ✓ Councillor Sulcan Mahmood
- ✓ Councillor AJ Matsiko
- ✓ Councillor David Mellen
- ✓ Councillor Sajid Mohammed Councillor Fozia Mubashar
- ✓ Councillor Salma Mumtaz Councillor Sana Nasir
- ✓ Councillor Devontay Okure Councillor Nayab Patel
- ✓ Councillor Georgia Power Councillor Shuguftah Quddoos
- √ Councillor Ethan Radford
- √ Councillor Nick Raine
- √ Councillor Eunice Regan
- ✓ Councillor Sarita-Marie Rehman-Wall
  - Councillor Samina Riaz
- ✓ Councillor Andrew Rule Councillor Naim Salim
- ✓ Councillor Michael Savage Councillor Matt Shannon
- ✓ Councillor Hayley Spain
- Councillor Maria Watson Councillor Adele Williams
- ✓ Councillor Linda Woodings
- ✓ Councillor Audra Wynter
- ✓ Indicates present at meeting

#### 4 Apologies for Absence

Councillor Audrey Dinnall (personal)

Councillor Nadia Farhat (personal)

Councillor Sam Gardiner (personal)

Councillor Gul Khan (personal)

Councillor Zafran Khan (other Council business)

Councillor Sam Lux (personal)

Councillor Sana Nasir (personal)

Councillor Naim Salim (personal)

### 5 <u>Declarations of Interests</u>

In relation to agenda item 3 Consent to the East Midlands Combined County Authority Regulations 2023 (minute reference 6), in the interests of transparency Councillor Michael Edwards stated that he would be speaking about a matter which affects the Transport Salaried Staffs Association, of which he is a member.

# 6 Consent to the East Midlands Combined County Authority Regulations 2023

Councillor David Mellen, Leader of the Council, proposed the report seeking agreement to the creation of the East Midlands Combined County Authority, of which it will be a constituent member, and consent to the Regulations which will establish the Authority. The report also noted that the inaugural mayoral elections for the Authority would be held in May 2024 and sought approval to appoint the Returning Officer for the proposed East Midlands Combined County Authority. The report was seconded by Councillor Audra Wynter.

#### Resolved to:

- (1) agree to the creation of the East Midlands Combined County Authority with the Council as a constituent member;
- (2) consent to the making of the East Midlands Combined County Authority Regulations 2023 as required by section 46(1)(d) of the Levelling Up and Regeneration Act 2023;
- (3) delegate authority to the Chief Executive to approve any technical amendments to the East Midlands Combined County Authority Regulations 2023, which the Chief Executives of the other three Councils also agree to, on behalf of Nottingham City Council. This delegation is to be exercised in consultation with the Leader of the Council; and
- (4) approve the appointment of Melbourne Barrett, Returning Officer of Nottingham City Council as the first combined county authority returning officer for the proposed East Midlands Combined County Authority, subject to the passing of the amendments to article 6A(1) of the Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) Order 2017 as applied by article 12 of the Combined Authorities (Mayoral Elections) Order 2017 (Amendment) Regulations 2023.

The Meeting concluded at 6.22 pm